NA Regional Qualifier Week 1 - Recap

by HiRez ESports | May 05, 2014
It's been a month since the conclusion on the SMITE Launch Tournament, but we're back! And we're better than ever.

In case you were absent from this weekends tournament, you missed out on more than just great games. You missed out on brand new production assets, over 9,000 views watching concurrently and brand new teams taking down veteran teams early in the tournament brackets.

In North America, we had a total of 34 teams signed up to compete for the $1,000 prize pool as well as points used to gain entry to the Regional LAN in August 2014. Veteran teams showed up such as COGnitive Gaming, Team Dignitas and SNIPE, but we also had new names show up which shook up the bracket a bit such as The Game Changers and Five Angry Men. And that's not all of them. We have a large pool of very competent teams that can advance further in the SMITE World Championship series.

In the last tournament series, "Path to $100K", COGnitive Gaming went undefeated as they placed 1st place in all 8 weeks. This season, however, after a small roster change, they were unable to make it to the Grand Finals. SNIPE and their new pickup Jerbie were able to take them down to meet Team Dignitas for the chance for 100 points and $500. Unfortunately for them, Team Dignitas won 2 straight games allowing for them to take 1st place. Catch the finals here: Game 1 and Game 2

Be sure to catch Week 2 and all future tournaments in the SMITE World Championship series on Twitch.tv/SmiteGame

Saturday - North America: 12:00pm EDT (18:00 CEST)
Sunday - Europe: 9:00am EDT (15:00 CEST)

And don't forget to follow our @SmitePro Twitter for all esports content, updates and tournaments.